EBSS2016 was held from July 17 to July 24, 2016 at NSCL/Michigan State University.

The 2016 Exotic Beam Summer School was held at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL), Michigan State University, from July 17 through July 24, 2016. The aim of this annual school is to introduce students and young researchers to the various facets of the science of exotic nuclei including nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and the application of nuclear science and technology. Through these schools, the research community will be able to more fully exploit the opportunities created by the next generation exotic beam facilities, such as the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB). The format of the school is unique: in the mornings, students will receive lectures from leading researchers in the field of nuclear physics with exotic beams. Lectures will focus on theoretical, experimental, technical and applied topics. In the afternoons, the students participate in hands-on activities, learning about the techniques and instrumentation needed to carry out experiments with exotic beams.

The EBSS series is sponsored by the US Department of Energy and National Science Foundation, and the following laboratories: Argonne National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory at Michigan State University, and Association for Research at University Nuclear Accelerators (ARUNA).

EBSS Board of Directors
Hiro Iwasaki (NSCL/MSU) - local organizer of EBSS2016
Dariusz Seweryniak (ANL)
Rod Clark (LBNL)
Mark Stoyer (LLNL)
Krzysztof Rykaczewski (ORNL)
Ingo Wiedenhoever (FSU/ARUNA)